ABPANC Honors CPAN & CAPA Certified Nurses at 2024 Celebration Luncheon

ABPANC Honors CPAN & CAPA Certified Nurses at 2024 Celebration Luncheon

The American Board of Perianesthesia Nursing Certification, Inc. (ABPANC) is pleased to announce the recipients of several prestigious awards presented during the CPAN/CAPA Celebration Luncheon held on April 15, 2024 in Orlando, Florida in conjunction with the ASPAN National Conference.

The Annual CPAN/CAPA Celebration Luncheon recognizes and celebrates nurses who have achieved the Certified Post Anesthesia Nurse (CPAN®) and Certified Ambulatory Perianesthesia Nurse (CAPA®) designations. These national professional certification programs are designed for registered nurses caring for patients who have experienced sedation, analgesia and anesthesia in a hospital or ambulatory care facility. ABPANC currently certifies more than 12,800 perianesthesia nurses who have earned the CPAN and/or CAPA credentials.

2024 Shining Star Award Recipients

ABPANC’s Shining Star Award publicly recognizes ASPAN Components for supporting and encouraging CPAN and CAPA certification at the local level.

Region 1:
NPANA – Northwest
PANAC – California
PANANM – New Mexico
RMPANA – Rocky Mountain
Region 2:
TAPAN- Texas
Region 3:
MAPAN – Michigan
MNDAKSPAN – Minnesota/Dakotas
OPANA – Ohio
Region 4:
MASPAN – Massachusetts
MESPAN – Maine
Region 5:
CBSPAN – Chesapeake Bay Society
NCAPAN – North Carolina
FLSPAN – Florida
TSPAN – Tennessee

2024 Certification Achievement Award Winners

Certification Achievement Awards are given to hospitals in which more than 75% of eligible perianesthesia nurses hold CPAN and/or CAPA certifications.

100% Certification Achievement

  • The Reading Hospital SurgiCenter at Spring Ridge – Wyomissing, PA

75% Or Higher Certification Achievement

  • Adventist Medical Center, Short Stay Surgery – Hanford, CA
  • Inova Fairfax Medical Campus Professional Services Building Surgery Center, Pre-Op/PACU – Falls Church, VA
  • Cedars Sinai Medical Center, 4 Pavilion PACU – Los Angeles, CA
  • Jefferson Hospital/Methodist Hospital, JMH PACU – Philadelphia, PA

2024 President’s Award

The President’s Award was established in 2019 to recognize a CPAN or CAPA nurse who best represents the values of perianesthesia nursing certification; a nurse who demonstrates extraordinary commitment and passion to perianesthesia nursing certification should be recognized and celebrated.

The recipient of the 2024 President’s Award is Ronda Dyer, MSN, BSPA, RN, CPAN, CAPA, CNE, of Adventist Medical Center in Hanford, CA.

ABPANC President Katie Houle, MSN, RN, CPAN, bestowed the 2024 President’s Award to Ronda in recognition of her tireless support of perianesthesia nursing and CPAN and CAPA certification.

2024 ABPANC Advocacy Award Recipient

Every year, ABPANC recognizes a CPAN or CAPA certified nurse who exemplifies leadership as a patient advocate with its highest honor, the Advocacy Award. The 2024 recipient is Cale Moyle, RN, BSN, CPAN, of the UW East Madison Hospital in Madison, Wisconsin.

Cale’s years of PACU experience have helped him personalize his patient care, engage with patients and caregivers, and empower them to tackle the often-unfamiliar challenges that lie ahead.

Cale is a strong patient and family advocate; he actively provides empathetic care and demonstrates interpersonal understanding; he takes initiative to enhance patient outcomes and their experience; lastly, he incorporates ASPAN standards to uphold excellence in patient care and his Care Team Leader duties.

But his advocacy doesn’t stop with patients. Cale advocated on behalf of the PACU by suggesting a workgroup to uncover the barriers with holding patients and how to advocate for their needs overnight. With his efforts, the workgroup created an avenue for patients to order food/meals from the culinary department, ensure they were first to be seen by physical therapy the next morning, and created a business proposal for a night-shift RN to help care for these patients overnight instead of asking for RN volunteers.

Congratulations to all the award recipients!