ABPANC Certification Achievement Award

ABPANC Certification Achievement Award

The ABPANC Certification Achievement Award recognizes that at least 75%, or 100%, of all eligible perianesthesia nurses in a specific department have earned CPAN® and/or CAPA® certification in a given year. The Department is awarded a framed certificate to recognize this outstanding achievement.

This application form must be completed in full and submitted to the ABPANC national office no later than Feb. 15. Once eligibility is verified, the individual submitting the application will be notified of the award, which will be announced on Certified Nurses Day (March 19 of the following year).

Recipients of the award are also provided with a sample news release for use in their hospital and community news sources. A congratulatory letter from the ABPANC President will be sent to the hospital CEO and Chief Nursing Officer.

To retain the ABPANC Certification Achievement Award annually, a unit must renew its application and documentation of 75% or 100% certified staff on a yearly basis.

Application Form

Congratulations to the 2023 Certification Achievement Award Winners!

In 2023, six hospitals received prestigious APBANC Certification Achievement Awards. These awards are given to hospitals in which more than 75% of eligible perianesthesia nurses hold Certified Post Anesthesia Nurse (CPAN) and/or Certified Ambulatory Perianesthesia Nurse (CAPA) certifications.

“This Certification Achievement Award is a testament to the leadership and staff of the hospital who recognize and support the value of nursing certification,” said ABPANC president Katie Houle, MSN, RN, CPAN. “Only a select few health care organizations across the nation have such a high percentage of certified nurses in the perianesthesia specialty.”

Congratulations to the following hospitals/units on this award:

100% Certification Achievement

  • The Reading Hospital SurgiCenter at Spring Ridge- Wyomissing, Penn.

75% Or Higher Certification Achievement

  • Chesapeake Regional Healthcare Post Anesthesia Care Unit- Chesapeake, Va.
  • Houston Methodist Hospital Dunn 6 PACU- Houston, Texas
  • Houston Methodist Hospital OPC 18 PACU – Houston, Texas
  • Inova Fairfax Medical Campus Professional Services Building Surgery Center, Pre-Op/PACU- Falls Church, Va.
  • Lahey Health LOCD Surgical Services- Danvers, Mass.